I went to the symphony alone a few nights ago. It was very enjoyable. Superb people watching. I went sort of last minute and got a $15 seat in the balcony. The fellow on my right was there with his wife and said he had been coming to the Orpheum for over 30 years. The man on my left stank of body odour and had an accent that made me think he was going to bomb the place.
Every time the conductor does anything, you have to clap. Personally, I don't really see the point in having him as all the musicians kept their eyes on their music sheets the entire time. Perhaps the conductor is simply a failed musician?
The music was wonderful...until the all male choir fired up a few songs in German. German is a hideous language, and when sung, is still hideous.
During the intermission (which I mistakenly called 'halftime' to a much offended symphony fan) I purchased an over priced and under poured glass of wine and sat in one of the many comfortable chairs provided. After nodding off for a bit, it was go time again. The latter half of the symphony was less enjoyable. Maybe I was a little tired? Maybe there was less energy? Who knows.
To anyone interested, I would highly recommend seeing the symphony. It seems the weekday shows rarely sell out. Go about 45 minutes before the show, head to the back entrance and grab some cheapies. This saves you about $35 per person. Not bad.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment